• 20 Sep 2017 4:11 PM | Jama Best (Administrator)

    AMA Awards – Call for Nominations!

    Arkansas Museums Association Annual Conference 2018

    Calico Rock, Arkansas

    March 27 - 29, 2018

    Each year the Arkansas Museums Association presents awards to celebrate and encourage excellence within Arkansas museums.  Please consider nominating an individual(s), an exhibit, a conservation project, or one of the other categories available.  Successful award recipients will be honored at the upcoming Arkansas Museums Association Conference 2018 in Calico Rock and Mountain View, Arkansas during the awards banquet.

    Please find the link below for AMA Award Guidelines and Instructions 2018.  Within the link you will find the online nomination form and guidelines.  We are excited and hope you will consider submitting nominations for one or more categories.  All nominations must be submitted on or before 4:00 p.m., Tuesday, October 31, 2017.


    Do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or need assistance.  All nominations will be reviewed by the AMA Awards Committee. We look forward to hearing from you!

    Thanks so much!


    AMA Awards Chair




  • 12 Jul 2017 4:35 PM | Kimberly Kaczenski (Administrator)

    The Arkansas Museums Association (AMA) has selected the conference site for the 2018 annual conference. Hosted by the Calico Rock Museum & Visitor Center and the Ozark Folk Center in Arkansas’s beautiful Ozark Mountain range, sessions and events will take place from March 27 to 29, 2018. 

  • 30 Mar 2017 11:20 AM | Kimberly Kaczenski (Administrator)

    The Arkansas Museums Association (AMA) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 AMA Awards:

    Outstanding Achievement in Exhibitions – Budget less than 150K/year

    “Pearl Harbor” – Arkansas Inland Maritime Museum

    Outstanding Achievement in Exhibitions - Budget more than 150K/year

    “The Open Road Exhibition” – Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art

    Outstanding Achievement in Conservation

    “First Ladies’ Gowns” - Old State House Museum

    Outstanding Achievement in Digital Media

    “Dance Interactive” - Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art

    Outstanding Achievement in Print Media

    “Faces of the Delta: The Art of A.J. Smith” - Delta Cultural Center

    Outstanding Achievement

    Stephanie Slagle, North Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau

    Museum Volunteer of the Year

    Allen Crawford, Calico Rock Museum

    Distinguished Museum Professional of the Year

    Allison Hiblong, Arkansas Inland Maritime Museum

    Peg Newton Smith Award for Lifetime Achievement

    Andy Zawacki, Historic Arkansas Museum

    The winners were announced at the awards ceremony during the AMA Annual Conference held in Washington, Arkansas, on March 29, 2017.

    Nominations were judged by a committee of museum professionals from across the state. Winning entries were expected to demonstrate outstanding achievement in four areas including: education, exhibitions, media, and professionalism. 

Arkansas Museums Association
P. O. Box 3292
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software